May Kids Picks

Summer is coming! Prepare with some great kids books:

Mustache Baby Meets His Match Mustache Baby Meets His Match
by Bridget Heos
E HEO

When Baby Javier comes for a playdate, Baby Billy, a.k.a. Mustache Baby, feels the need to show him a thing or two, seeing how Javier’s new to town—and also sports an impressive beard. What ensues is a hilarious test of wills and facial hair, as each baby sets out to prove his manliness. It seems Mustache Baby may have truly met his match.
-Crystal

The Whale in My Swimming Pool The Whale in My Swimming Pool
by Joyce Wan
E WAN

One sunny day, a little boy heads outside for a swim, but his pool is already taken . . . There’s a big whale in the water and it’s not budging! The boy tries everything to get the whale to leave.
-Crystal

We Are in a Book We Are in a Book
by Mo Willems
E WIL

All is going well until Gerald finds out that he is in a book and that THE BOOK WILL END! Luckily Piggie comes to the rescue and comes up with a plan to calm his friend down. As with most Mo Willems books, “We Are in a Book” is great laugh out loud fun.
-Mike

Worst Trip The Worst Class Trip Ever
by Dave Barry
J BAR

In this hilarious novel, written in the voice of eighth-grader Wyatt Palmer, Dave Barry takes us on a class trip to Washington, DC. Wyatt, his best friend, Matt, and a few kids from Culver Middle School find themselves in a heap of trouble-not just with their teachers, who have long lost patience with them-but from several mysterious men they first meet on their flight to the nation’s capital.
-Crystal

Girl Who Threw Butterflies The Girl Threw Butterflies
by Mick Cochrane
J COC

For an eighth grader, Molly Williams has more than her fair share of problems. Her father has just died in a car accident, and her mother has become a withdrawn, quiet version of herself. Molly doesn’t want to be seen as “Miss Difficulty Overcome”; she wants to make herself known to the kids at school for something other than her father’s death. So she decides to join the baseball team. The boys’ baseball team.

-Crystal

Zita Zita the Spacegirl: Book One Far From Home
by Ben Hatke
J HAT

Zita is thrust into the role of hero, encountering strange monsters and making friends along the way. Fun illustrations and humor make this one a winner!
-Mike

May Adult Picks

The Twelve The Twelve
by Justin Cronin
F CRO

In the present day, as the man-made apocalypse unfolds, three strangers navigate the chaos. Lila, a doctor and an expectant mother, is so shattered by the spread of violence and infection that she continues to plan for her child’s arrival even as society dissolves around her. Kittridge, known to the world as “Last Stand in Denver,” has been forced to flee his stronghold and is now on the road, dodging the infected, armed but alone and well aware that a tank of gas will get him only so far. April is a teenager fighting to guide her little brother safely through a landscape of death and ruin. These three will learn that they have not been fully abandoned—and that in connection lies hope, even on the darkest of nights.
-Serena

The First Days The First Days
by Rhinannon Frater
F FRA

If you’re a fan of zombie books and movies this is the book for you. Could you survive in The First Days? Really solid zombie series that’s great for “Walking Dead” fans.
-Serena

I Shall Be Near You I Shall Be Near You
by Erin Lindsay McCabe
F MCC

A newly married woman disguises herself as a man and fights by her husband’s side in the Civil War. Rosetta grew up helping her father run the farm and preferred doing that to “woman’s work.” When her husband left to fight for the Union, she was alone with his family and relegated to cooking, cleaning and sewing. She cut her hair, dressed in men’s clothes and enlisted. This novel is based on true events described in letters by women who fought in the war.
-Debbie

Blood on the Snow Blood on the Snow
by Jo Nesbo
F NES

Olav is a professional hitman who is very good at his job. When he is asked by his boss to kill his wife, things take a bizarre turn.
-Debbie

Emma: A Modern Retelling Emma: A Modern Retelling
by Alexander McCall Smith
F MCC

The original “Emma” by Jane Austin tells a delightful tale about an innocently-flawed heroine trying to be a match-maker in early-19th century England, The same cannot be said of this new version, which does not seem to fit in with present-day. The characters and plot seem contrived and out of place. For those longing for a return to the world of Austin, it may be a disappointment, but read it anyway; it will remind you of just how great a writer Austin really is.
-Robin

Still Missing Still Missing
by Chevy Stevens
F STE

Still Missing by Chevy Stevens is about a Realtor who gets abducted from an open house. It was an excellently-written and fast-paced psychological thriller. It pulled me in and through the book so fast, I didn’t want to put it down!
-Sara

Crossroads of Should and Must: Find and Follow Your Passion Crossroads of Should and Must: Find and Follow Your Passion
by Elle Luna
158.1 LUN

This may just be the book to get you to stop procrastinating and make your art. A must read for creative types!
-Mike

The Wright Brothers The Wright Brothers
by David McCullough
629.13 MCC

Once again, David McCullough has written a historical masterpiece that reads like a good piece of fiction. The Wrights come to life in the context of their family relationships and community in Dayton, OH, showcasing the development of their early interest in flying machines. This account makes it clear that the brothers were geniuses, each with his own gifts and dedication that contributed to the brilliant invention that gave mankind the ability to fly.
-Robin

Gateway to Freedom: The Hidden History of the Underground Railroad Gateway to Freedom: The Hidden History of the Underground Railroad
by Eric Foner
977.711 FON

Foner’s latest is a detailed history of the Underground Railroad, adding to his tremendous body of work on slavery. This work focuses on the anti-slavery movement in New York City, and makes the connection between business support for slavery and ties to Southern trade. Interesting book but mostly for those truly interest in the subject matter.
-Robin

May Young Adult Picks

Looking for your next Young Adult read? We’ve got you covered!

Knife of Never Letting Go The Knife of Never Letting Go
by Patrick Ness
YA NES

Pursued by power-hungry Prentiss and mad minister Aaron, young Todd and Viola set out across New World searching for answers about his colony’s true past and seeking a way to warn the ship bringing hopeful settlers from Old World.
-Serena

Dorothy Must Die Dorothy Must Die
by Danielle Paige
YA PAI

Dorothy found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.
-Crystal

The Raven Boys The Raven Boys
by Maggie Stiefvater
YA STI

Though she is from a family of clairvoyants, Blue Sargent’s only gift seems to be that she makes other people’s talents stronger, and when she meets Gansey, one of the Raven Boys from the expensive Aglionby Academy, she discovers that he has talents of his own–and that together their talents are a dangerous mix.

-Serena

Wish You Were Dead Wish You Were Dead
by Todd Strasser
YA STR

The day after anonymous blogger Str-S-d wishes the popular girl would die, Lucy vanishes. The students of Soundview High are scared and worried. Especially frightened and wracked with guilt is Madison Archer, Lucy’s friend and the last person to see her the night she disappeared. As days pass with no sign of the missing girl, even the attention of Tyler, an attractive new student, is not enough to distract Madison from her growing sense of foreboding. When two more popular students disappear after their names are mentioned on Str-S-d’s blog, the residents of Soundview panic.
-Crystal

Rebel Rebel
by Amy Tintera
YA TIN
Having broken free of HARC, seventeen-year-old Wren and Callum escaped north but the Reboot Reservation is preparing to wage all-out war on the humans and the two are torn about their loyalties until Micah commits the ultimate betrayal and their choice is made.
-Serena

The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B
by Teresa Toten
YA TOT

It is hard enough being a teenager but being a teenager with obsessive compulsive disorder is an even bigger challenge. Adam Ross joined an OCD support group and immediately falls for a fellow group member. Adam seems to be able to help everyone in the support group but with his crazy family life he finds his compulsive routines escalating. I found this book to be both funny and sad and an insightful look into mental illness.
-Debbie

Language Learning at the Library

Want to brush up on a foreign language for an upcoming trip or just for fun? The Library has two great online programs for you to use!

Mango_colorEach Mango course is presented with an appreciation for cultural nuance and real-world application by focusing on the four key elements of language learning: vocabulary, pronunciation, grammar, and culture. Mango offers access to 60 foreign language courses and 17 English courses taught completely in the user’s native language. In addition to traditional language courses, Mango also offers the opportunity to learn through foreign film with Mango Premiere™ and access to a variety of specialty mini courses, like Pirate, Medical Spanish and romance courses.

pronunciator-405x140

Pronunciator provides interactive, self-paced language learning for 80 languages and ESL for 50 non-English languages. This resource includes audio lessons, interactive textbooks, quizzes, intelligent flashcards, phrasebooks and pronunciation analysis. Users create their own login to access the resource and track their progress.

Head over to the Library’s Online Resources page and get started right away!

May the Fourth Be With You

Check out these recent Star Wars book releases and May the Fourth be with you!

Star Wars Costumes: the Original Trilogy Star Wars Costumes: the Original Trilogy
Brandon Alinger
791.437 ALI

“Star Wars Costumes: The Original Trilogy” affords both new and longtime Star Wars fans an intimate look at the unforgettable costumes from this classic series.

Star Wars Storyboards Star Wars Storyboards
791.437 STA

For the first time, Lucasfilm has opened its archives to present the complete storyboards for the original Star Wars trilogy and never-before-published art from early conceptual and deleted scenes.

The Bounty Hunter Code The Bounty Hunter Code
Daniel Wallace
791.437 WAL

This volume details the skills needed to make a living beyond galactic law as well as the little-known history, philosophy, and gear of Death Watch.

William Shakespeare's Star Wars: the Jedi Doth Return William Shakespeare’s Star Wars: the Jedi Doth Return
Ian Doescher
812.6 DOE

The third book in the trilogy for fans of Shakespeare and “Star Wars” mash-up tales.

A New Dawn A New Dawn
John Jackson Miller
F MIL

“A New Dawn” tells the story of how two of the lead characters from the animated series Star Wars Rebels first came to cross paths.

Emperor Pickletine rides the bus Emperor Pickletine Rides the Bus
Tom Angleberger
J ANG

The latest in the “Origami Yoda” series has the seventh graders of McQuarrie Middle School and their Star Wars-inspired Origami finger puppets travel to Washington, D.C. on a field trip.

Jedi Knight Star Wars: the Adventures of Luke Skywalker, Jedi Knight
Tony DiTerlizzi
J STA

A retelling of the adventures of Luke Skywalker and the rebel forces as they try to defeat the imperial forces.

What Makes a Monster What Makes a Monster?
Adam Bray
J 791.437 STA

Meet some of the most fearsome monsters in the Star Wars galaxy.