Staff Picks July 2017

I am re-reading Jane Eyre and am enjoying this classic novel.

Cheri

The Weight of Silence by Heather Gudenkauf

When two little girls go missing in a small town, it causes everyone involved to examine the roles they may have played in the events.  There is more than one suspect and some finger pointing, particularly at Antonia, a semi-single mom to one of the girls.  This book is my first by this author and I enjoyed it.  I intend to read more.

Lynae

I am reading The Boy Who Fell from the Sky by Jule Owen. It is from a British writer of futuristic fiction for young readers that I am really beginning to enjoy although it is not usually the genre that I read. An author that I do like in whatever series he is writing is a British author, Tim Vicary.

Nina

I am reading Aunt Dimity and the Widow’s Curse, by Nancy Atherton.  The story gets your attention right from the start, and leads the reader down a path of exploring a “curse”.  Although nicely written and Atherton tries to consider all avenues of possible outcomes, she overcompensates and the mystery could be solved simply with better communication .  The story slows and leaves the reader saying ,” just dig up the rose garden already!”

Sandra

 

 

Leave a Reply

