October library staff book pics

This fall, our staff is branching out a little, reading books outside their usual genres.  Some are oldies but goodies, and if you can’t find it on our shelves, ask us about an Interlibrary Loan

After hearing an excerpt and interview with the author on Fresh Air, I picked up Jenny Zhang’s Sour Heart– I have to keep reminding myself that I’m not reading a dark memoir, that these stories are fiction. Acerbic humor and a tiny bit of self-deprecation mark these short stories that flow together like a memoir. For fans of Amy Tan or Lisa See, those with interest in Chinese American historical fiction will enjoy branching out a little.

-Jenneffer S.

I am reading, My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry by Fredrick Bachman; not done yet, so far so good.

-Jennifer L.

I just finished reading, The Goldfinch, by Donna Tartt; it was a long book and it kept my interest. In fact, I stayed up late last night to finish it.

-Cheri S.

I just finished Hunter/Prey by Sid Sisavath. It was quite a ride with thrills and action from start to finish; it was so exciting, I couldn’t put it down to sleep!

-Nina E.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s