Staff Picks for November

I just finished reading, Yankee Town, Southern City by Steven Tripp. It was about the changing social structure and race relations in Lynchburg, Virginia throughout the Civil War period.

-Rachel V

I just finished The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah; it was amazing.

-Serena S.

Ready Player One by Ernest Kline

-Kerrie C.

PawPaw: In Search of America’s Forgotten Fruit by Andrew Moore. Andrew Moore did a wonderful job of research for this book, but he never fails to stray from the wonder and lust that captures him in the first place upon discovery of the Native American fruit.

-Jenneffer S.

 

Advertisements

Library Challenges Readers to try Digital

digitaldash_icon_mpl_2017

Library Challenges Readers to Try Digital

Mooresville, NC— November 1st, 2017 —Mooresville Public Library is on a mission: Get more people to try digital reading! While they have offered eBooks, digital audiobooks, and streaming video to the community through their partnership with OverDrive for 10 years, they know that many people are still surprised to learn their library card gives them access to over 42,680 free digital titles.

Throughout the rest of this year, the library is participating in OverDrive’s “Digital Dash” contest. If they hit 1,797,393 digital checkouts by the end of the year, they will be eligible to win additional funds to buy more eBooks and audiobooks for their OverDrive collection.

Circulation Supervisor Robin Howard says, “Audiobooks are rising in popularity. With the increase in usage of services like Audible, we want to let people know that we have digital audiobooks available to borrow at no cost.”

The library’s digital books are free for anyone with a valid library card. Current popular titles include The Fix by David Baldacci, Camino Island by John Grisham, and Into the Water by Paula Hawkins. Users can borrow bestsellers and classic eBooks and digital audiobooks to enjoy on smart phones, tablets, Kindles and other eReaders, MP3 players, and computers. Mooresville Public Library also offers a dedicated space for younger readers, with a variety of juvenile and young adult titles on https://nckids.overdrive.com. There are never late fees with digital titles, as they return automatically at the end of the lending period.

Readers can access the library’s digital collection 24/7 by visiting https://ncdigital.overdrive.com or by downloading the Libby app from their device’s app store.

About OverDrive
OverDrive is the leading digital reading platform for libraries and schools.  We are dedicated to “a world enlightened by reading” by delivering the industry’s largest catalog of eBooks, audiobooks and other digital media to a growing network of 36,000 libraries and schools in 63 countries worldwide.  Founded in 1986, OverDrive is based in Cleveland, Ohio USA and owned by Tokyo-based Rakuten.  www.overdrive.com

 

Local History Corner: Merchants and Farmer’s Bank

Merchants and Farmer’s Bank

by Andy Poore, Curator, Special Collections, Mooresville Public Library
assisted by Travis Sherrill

Moorsville_Merchants_and_Farmers_Bank_c_1920

Built on the corner of Moore and Main Street, the Merchants and Farmer’s Bank opened in December of 1907 as the newest bank in what was becoming a long line of financial institutions for the Town of Mooresville. The starting capital of $20,000 was quickly increased to $30,000 by 1910. In 1929, the bank suffered massive losses due to the crash of the stock market. By 1933, the bank had closed its doors for good. In 1946, the bank saw new life when Piedmont Bank and Trust opened in the old building. After Piedmont Bank moved out, the building had numerous businesses move in and out for several years. The staircase to the second floor of the bank is located in the middle of the building on the Moore Street side, and was only accessible from the outside of the building. Various offices occupied the back and upstairs of the building. The building is still one of the Town of Mooresville’s most architecturally impressive buildings and its most impressive feature, the elaborate vault can still be seen inside today.

Local History Corner- The Central Hotel

Commercial Hotelby Andy Poore, Curator, Special Collections, Mooresville Public Library

The Central Hotel occupied what is now the last two buildings of the D.E. Turner Hardware row and the park area that is beside the last building. The fence that is displayed in the park is from the original home of Mr. Cyrus Alexander Johnston. Mr. Johnston’s home faced Church Street with its back to Main Street. Starting in the late 1880’s, in the home of Mr. Cyrus Alexander Johnston, The Central Hotel was Mooresville’s finest hotel and gathering spot for many years.

The Central Hotel stood at 125-129 Main Street. Because Mr. Johnston’s house was directly across from the depot, people would come to his home, looking for a meal or a place to stay, as they thought it was a bed and breakfast. Mr. Johnston’s daughter, who married John A. Melchor, returned home after Mr. Melchor’s death in 1890. She started serving people who were coming to the house looking for a meal or a place to stay. Mr. Johnston quickly decided to expand his service and built an 8-room brick building on the back of his house. The building housed rooms, a dining room, a larger kitchen, and a porch and balcony area for guests to sit and relax. The family continued to live in the house portion of the hotel. In addition to the café in the hotel, there was also a school on the second floor.

If you stand in the park and look to the right, the second building was home to several stores, including a barber shop, whose walls were lined with mirrors, and whose floors can still be seen at the entrance of the building today. By the 1930’s, the building was home to a movie theater, which was named The Central Movie Theater in honor of The Central Hotel. The movie theater set parallel to Main Street. The two ends of the hotel were built at an angle with the one on the right side bearing a large sign that was pointed toward the depot so that people arriving on the train could see the sign for the hotel.

October library staff book pics

This fall, our staff is branching out a little, reading books outside their usual genres.  Some are oldies but goodies, and if you can’t find it on our shelves, ask us about an Interlibrary Loan

After hearing an excerpt and interview with the author on Fresh Air, I picked up Jenny Zhang’s Sour Heart– I have to keep reminding myself that I’m not reading a dark memoir, that these stories are fiction. Acerbic humor and a tiny bit of self-deprecation mark these short stories that flow together like a memoir. For fans of Amy Tan or Lisa See, those with interest in Chinese American historical fiction will enjoy branching out a little.

-Jenneffer S.

I am reading, My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry by Fredrick Bachman; not done yet, so far so good.

-Jennifer L.

I just finished reading, The Goldfinch, by Donna Tartt; it was a long book and it kept my interest. In fact, I stayed up late last night to finish it.

-Cheri S.

I just finished Hunter/Prey by Sid Sisavath. It was quite a ride with thrills and action from start to finish; it was so exciting, I couldn’t put it down to sleep!

-Nina E.

Staff Picks- September 2017

 

The Tea Girl from Hummingbird Lane by Lisa See; wow, it was wonderful, and went in so many directions!

-Marian M.

That Sherman Alexie, he is way too clever. In one of the lines just past the middle of You Don’t Have to Say You Love Me, he says his wife tells him he’s constructed this story like his mother’s patchwork quilts, and I concur. It’s an incredible weave of narrative, poetry, re-working of past, present and future, serious and humorous, love and hate, just, man, a great memoir.

There are works of fiction he has written that I love, consider them modern classics in literature, and didn’t realize just how autobiographical they were until I read this memoir. I use Junior’s soliloquy about “the tribe of me” in The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-time Indian as inspiration for my diversity statement, and have re-read that book a few times. I can’t wait to see what he comes up with next!

-Jenneffer S.

I just finished Anything is Possible by Elizabeth Strout.  Like many of her books, she incorporates characters from past books.  However, they don’t necessarily have a big role in the story, but they help set up some of the current characters.  This book revolves around the town that her last book’s main character, Lucy Barton, came from.  I enjoyed knowing more of Lucy’s back story and the important role her family played in the current character’s lives. This book is a great slice of life in small town America.

-Lynae V.